The Street Racing Stig – Chapters 21 Thru 25

Chapter 21: The Results

I should’ve listened. I should’ve listened. I shouldn’t be here. I should be at home, relaxing on the couch. I should be spending time with friends. I should be possibly meeting the girl of my dreams.

But yet, here I am, waiting my fate as I watched the charger park into the spot beside mine. I could already see the girlfriend that I saw earlier in view, reaching her head in, no doubt congratulating her boyfriend. It was pure joy and excitement.

I keep myself still, scared of what was to come, worried as to whether I’d have a future after tonight. That agony only increases as I watch the muscular guy open his door and rise out of his car. His eyes catch a glance my way, and yet seem so dull? This guy just won, and yet there’s no big excitement to be seen. It’s like he knows what he’s doing, been here before. Perhaps he just does it for reasons of the adrenaline rush. Who knows.

Regardless, he was on my radar as he rounds his car and comes my way. Here it comes – I beat you, haha. That and some bribing on about how he did it. Oh, and a show your identity since I’m better than you cause. No doubt Sir Rhodes will be in view shortly, ready to pay bounty and take satisfaction in knowing my identity. Oh the shock that he’d be in for.

“Nice job,” I speak up first, trying to hide the nervousness that fills me. “Congratulations.”

“I told you that car had never seen a pair of tail lights and you just had to not believe me,” he starts. I do remember that line carefully. I guess I should’ve taken that as a warning. But then, I’d be seen as coward if I hadn’t raced him. No doubt Rhodes would been all over that one. “Nice try, though.”

“As I said – good race.” And we’ll leave it at that, right?

“Least we know who still runs the streets, even if they say your king here. I’ll catch ya around and perhaps give you another shot at it.” That’s it? You’re not questioning my identity? You’re just taking pride in beating me?

“I look forward to another shot at beating you.” I watch as he turns on his heels and walks away, returning to his girlfriend’s side.

Wow. That did not go as I expected. I fully expected to have my ass dragged out of my car and be fully revealed in full view. I fully expected my entire world to come crashing down in a matter of moments. But yet, he just let it sink in – easily I may add – that he won and left it at that.

It was like he knew the type of deal that I was going through and understood what I was doing. Though he also seemed, by his talk anyway, that he was a top notch guy across the streets everywhere. Who could he be? Where’s Malcolm when I need him?

“Sir?” I hear as I glance beside me, watching a man walk up to the ‘muscle dude’ with an envelope in his hand. Probably an agent of Rhodes. He wouldn’t want to hand over the bounty payout himself or else we’d all know that it was him who created the famous bounty. “This comes from the bounty men. It is your present for beating ‘The Stig’ and proving that he is not untouchable.” I watch my friendly foe keep his eyes locked on the man before him, pushing the envelope away without reason. Are you kidding me? First he turns down seeing my identity and now turns down a good size chunk of money? Who is this guy?

“I don’t need your money,” he states. “I came here because I like what I do – simple as that. I just wanted to see for myself I could beat him.”

“I’ll tell my boss that information.” I watch the slender guy put the envelope back away. “Did you find out his identity or anything about him?”

“No. Now can you leave?” The little guy walks away as the muscle tier guy glances my way before turning his eyes back on everyone else.

There’s something intriguing about his behavior and how he carries himself. It doesn’t match anybody else that I have seen here, though it somehow reminds me of the way that I have been acting. I need to find out more information on this guy – but how? I wonder if Malcolm would do me a favor, even if he won’t be seen with me.

Though I can’t think about him all night as there’s another pressing matter on my hands – Candiss.

How could I forget the deal that I made with her last week? Run a race each week and whoever wins gets to find out some details. It was a good plan, considering this girl was a batch of mystery and didn’t want to divulge on details. Furthermore, she was very offended by any details getting out. Why would that be? Something to hide?

“So I see that you can be beaten?” She questions as she walks over to me, putting both hands on her hips. Keep portraying that sweet attitude, dear. We know there’s a sweet side to you underneath that.

“That doesn’t mean that you’re going to beat me, sweetheart,” I answer as she lets out a laugh. Even her laugh is adorable.

“Now now, don’t get cocky. That may come back to bite you.” There’s more biting action that could….okay, wrong train of thought.

“Trust me sweetheart, I know what I’m talking about.” I had beaten her twice already. What was stopping me from doing it a third time?

“So are you still up for our deal even with getting beat by my friend here?” Wait – she is friends with that guy? Woah! Alright – things just got more interesting. If only I could convince her to tell his name and some more details – like his biographical information and how they met. “Or are you going to put your tail between your legs and run home scared?” Focus Jimmie, focus.

“I’m ready for what you have to offer any day, sweetheart.” That was no lie as I didn’t mind spending time with her at all.

“See you at starting line. Oh, and sweetie, remember – the gas pedal is on the right.” She then walks away as I find myself drooling at her butt.

Focus Jimmie – focus.

I take my time heading up to the starting line, knowing that I got to concentrate and do what I do best – win.

I need to find out more information on this girl. There were so many pieces to the puzzle and yet I needed someway to put them together. Possible abusive past, involved in illegal activity and came to Charlotte to run away from something in New York. It couldn’t deal with that guy beside me, anyway, because he was considered ‘a friend’.

I wouldn’t mind finding out more about him, either. I mean, anybody that beats me has to have a good reason to have done so and I want to know that reason. I want to know who he is, his history and how he came to be here. Plus, he talks all smug so he has to have experience – winning experience.

Considering that they’re friends, that totally confirms the street racer theory that I had. She raced the streets of New York before and that’s probably where they became friends due to being in a common spot. Now what were the details of their association? I can’t confirm that, yet.

There’s also the possibility of maybe friending this guy and seeing if he could tell me more about Candiss, rather than playing 21 questions with her. But wait – can’t do that as I can’t tell anyone as to whom I am. So much for being a normal guy as life would be so much easier.

I glance over, seeing that she’s joined me at the starting line – immediately turn my eyes forward, though. I have to concentrate. I can’t let her distract me. Eyes focused on the road ahead. Eyes focused on the hands, the arms, the shoulders – waiting for a single flinch. Mind focused on hitting the gas pedal as soon as that flinch is made and pushing down as fast and as hard as I can.

I’m the Stig. I don’t lose races, and I’m not going to lose another one.

 

Chapter 22: Friends and Foes

Candiss’ POV

I couldn’t believe the sight before me.

What was he doing here? I thought he didn’t bother with drama anymore, since everything that happened. If that was the case, why would he bring himself into unchartered territory?

Last I checked, he was enjoying life in LA with his girlfriend and his sister. It was crazy to believe everything that man had been through, and I was so glad that he had found his way and could be comfortable now. It was a good feeling for us both after we crossed paths, separated and went through our own battles.

I also could understand why he was here, though. Thanks to the bounty that was laid ahead, I could obviously tell that many people would show their faces around this part of town. Some out of curiosity, some out of greed. I also knew that he had a good chance at taking down the Stig as trust me, he knew how to street race quite well. Everybody knew that beautiful charger that he took with him everywhere.

“You still racing the streets?” I hear and glance over at him with a smile. I’m surprised that he recognized me.

“I still you’re still racing so why bug me?” I answer in response as he smiles, coming over and offering a hug.

“It’s nice to see you and the fact that you’re doing well, Candiss. But yet now down here in North Carolina?” She knew that would be a surprise to anybody that knew her well.

“Let’s just say that I needed a change in scenery.” I watch as he crosses his arms. There was no fazing him. he knew pretty much everything about the streets. I wondered if he knew the identity of The Stig, truthfully.

“I know what happened up in New York so don’t bullshit me. That’s why I’m surprised that you’re still racing.” Wow. I didn’t expect that out of him, considering everything that he’s done and the fact that he’s here. Guess you learn something new each day.

“You’re here so I guess that says something, doesn’t it?” I obviously have caught him in a spot as he just smiles before walking away.

“I’ll see you around. Keep out of trouble, please.” Oh but he should know that’s easier said than done, considering trouble is always lurking with these streets.

I watch as he heads off – because, of course, he has set himself up with a race with the Stig. Why doesn’t that surprise me? I knew that had to be the reason that he had come so far south.

I also wasn’t surprised when he won because let’s face it – that man knows what he’s doing. Though him winning also had me intrigued. He had won. That meant that he got a piece of that bounty. That also could mean an identity could be revealed.

Part of me didn’t want the identity revealed as let’s face it – that would remove the payday that I was trying to collect myself. That would remove the purpose for going about the back and forth tier battle as I have with him.

However, I also wanted to know the identity of this person – and perhaps more than I wanted the money, now. The more I was around him, the more I felt drawn to him – as if to be with him forever. Strange, right? I don’t know how to explain it but it just seemed that was the game that we were playing.

I lean against my camaro, watching the scene that is about to unfold with intrigued interest – debating which result I would rather see unfold before me. I watch the door to the charger open and one of the hottest, might I add muscular guys that I’ll ever meet rise out, glancing over at the Stig. If I could see the eyes of the Stig right now, there’d probably be a tinge of fear there. Everybody feared this man once they knew how much he stood for. I didn’t fear him, for I crossed the friend bridge, knowing the friendship he could offer. Once you were friends with him, he made sure to have your back for life.

I watch him walk around and over to the camaro that the Stig resides in, the mental debate of how badly I want the identity to revealed still ragging on in my mind.

“Nice job,” The Stig speaks up first. “Congratulations.” You could just feel the nerves in his voice. I knew he’d be scared.

“I told you that car had never seen a pair of tail lights and you just had to not believe me,” he starts and oh how I have heard that line so many times myself. It’s the famous line that he speaks to a lot of people, and a line that has reigned true in many situations – except a couple. However, those were very special exceptions. I wasn’t one of those, by the way. “Nice try, though.”

“As I said – good race.” That’s right. Act as a friend and hope that he just leaves you be. Face it, you’re afraid buddy.

“Least we know who still runs the streets, even if they say your king here. I’ll catch ya around and perhaps give you another shot at it.” Woah – wait. No identity warrant crisis? Okay, that was strange. Either everything that he did has played with his mind to leave mystery alone, he just wanted to see if he could beat him or he actually knows the identity. I actually feel disappointed, too. I was really hoping to learn the identity of the man behind the wheel of that midnight blue camaro; the money was actually becoming less and less a warrant with each passing moment.

“I look forward to another shot at beating you.” Good luck with that, buddy. We know how he rolls. He doesn’t race people on a second or third occasion, unless there’s a good reason for it.

I watch as he walks away and returns to his challenger, returning to his girlfriend’s side. I was glad to see that he still had herby his side despite everything. To get separated as they did, to have to fight to be back together and everything else they had gone through, it was nice to see them enjoying this time together.

“Sir?” I hear as my mind turns back to reality. Who was this dude who now standing before him? Of course, he had to be a bit of a dud as nobody simply walked up to the man. Everybody in our area always knew to keep their distance. My eyes then glance down to the envelope that is held firmly – the bounty money. So this was the man that had the money. I was curious as to whether he created the bounty, or just a simple agent. My bet – probably an agent. Why would you risk being found out yourself? “This comes from the bounty men. It is your present for beating ‘The Stig’ and proving that he is not untouchable.” Ah yes, an agent as predicted. Though not as predicted, the envelope is pushed away from the individual. Again, this man continues to raise my intrigue.

“I don’t need your money,” he states. “I came here because I like what I do – simple as that. I just wanted to see for myself I could beat him.” So that was the reason….right? Or did he have another motive in trying to find out more information for his self about the ones that would put up the bounty? Was he trying to crack a case? After all, he became friends with the law after everything that happened. Can you believe that? Yeah, me neither. It’d also make sense as to why he wouldn’t want to find out the identity of the Stig as he would know.

“I’ll tell my boss that information.” I watch the slender guy put the envelope back away. “Did you find out his identity or anything about him?”

“No. Now can you leave?” Well, that was kept pretty simple and short. As I said, no bullshitting in this scenario. I watch as the little agent walks away, probably running to hide in fear.

Okay, enough of that. Time to do what I came here to do. Time to take another shot at this guy and actually beat him tonight. I need to get started on my own questions as he is learning too much about me as it is.

“So I see that you can be beaten?” I question as I walk over, putting both hands on my hips. Might as well use the current situation to my advantage.

“That doesn’t mean that you’re going to beat me, sweetheart,” he answers and I can only let out a laugh. Oh how he tries to play the game so well by himself.

“Now now, don’t get cocky. That may come back to bite you.” Like I said – I plan on beating him.

“Trust me sweetheart, I know what I’m talking about.” Cockiness will get you nowhere, buddy. Keep getting more cocky and it will really bite you hard.

“So are you still up for our deal even with getting beat by my friend here?” Might as well use everything that I can in this scenario to my advantage. Got to keep up the perfect image for him. “Or are you going to put your tail between your legs and run home scared?” Focus Jimmie, focus.

“I’m ready for what you have to offer any day, sweetheart.” I can only chuckle at that line.

“See you at starting line. Oh, and sweetie, remember – the gas pedal is on the right.” I then walk away, knowing that I have said enough for the time being.

 

Chapter 23: The Results

I couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t stand to believe what had just happened. For the second time tonight, I had been beaten. I had actually lost a race. This one I didn’t lose by much but once again, I lost.

How could I lose to a girl? How could I lose to Candiss?

Every feeling that I felt earlier began haunting me instantly, once again. I couldn’t believe the sitauton that I was being dealt with tonight. What if I got found out? Should I have been smart enough and listened to Malcolm and Ron? Were they only trying ot protect my ass?

Worst of all – was I letting this girl and her hotness throw me off my game as a whole? It couldn’t be that. I was sure to concentrate on the task at hand and nothing else. I wasn’t letting the thought of her beauty – those sexy eyes, slender body and long blond hair – clash with my thoughts about my racing.

Perhaps the car was letting me down. Maybe she needed a tune-up. I wondered if Malcolm actually went over her as he said he was going to. Note to self – make sure to check over everything between now and next week, if I’m alive then.

I glance to my side, watching her walk up to the car, smile firmly planted on her face as she is obviously debating the question that she has to ask at hand.

“As I was saying, I could beat you,” she states. Should I advise her about her own cocky advice?

“Let’s face it – you can get lucky here and there,” I offer and I just wanted to settle on the fact that I was having a bad night. Either something was off with the car, or something was off with me. It couldn’t be me because I was focused as ever – or was I? Let’s face it – things were going a little affray tonight. Perhaps they had thrown my game off.

“You can keep telling yourself that. But remember, this is the second time that your ass has been beat tonight.” She does have a good point. Perhaps there was an adjustment period in realizing that Malcolm wasn’t here. Couldn’t let that happen any longer if I wanted to keep up my image. It could also be because of the new guy that showed up and stole my curiosity. I got to get that out of my mind as I have to focus here.

“I’ll keep your advice in mind. Now, what’s the question that you have to ask?” I just hoped that she didn’t dive too deep. Let’s face it – we agreed to not do anything that would simply give out the identity clearly. We were supposed to ask questions that would gain clues. Certainly she could ask a question for a clue that wouldn’t give her much.

“Do I know you?” The question was simple, yet brought complications. Of course we knew each other from our discussions at the diner. Now, the question was whether to reveal that detail. If I said that I knew her, how much would that narrow her list down in her mind? How many people did she know besides Tyler? Perhaps she’d even believe that I was Tyler. Okay, okay, it wouldn’t be fair to lie as I agreed to this honestly and if for some reason we were to get together one day – please – I want to do this on honest terms at all times.

“Yes, you do.” It was a simple answer. I just hoped it didn’t open the door wide open.

“Simple answer. Very intriguing. I’ll keep that thought in mind. You better be on your game next week.” That’s it? Obviously she was running the list of people she knew through her mind and through the process of elimination trying to figure it out. I just hoped that she didn’t.

“Same goes to you. I’ll only let you win once to let you think you have the upperhand.” We’ll just go with that.

“Keep telling yourself that….” I watch as she walks away, sharing a quick high-five with her buddy – muscle Charger dude – as she continues her walk up the strip.

It was obvious to tell that she had pride in her mind and she felt that she had conquered what she needed to that night. I couldn’t blame that feeling, either, as it was obvious as to why she would have it.

Now to figure out what is going on so this losing ends.

“Ma’am?” I hear and immediately recognize that voice as I glance their way. Forget thinking about things. I can do that later. First, I need to see how this exchange goes as I watch that ‘envelope man’ walk up to her, another envelope in hand. Okay, how much money does Rhodes have as he seems to be dishing out the money tonight? I thought you just dished it to the first winner, anyway. Perhaps he hopes to bribe them in hoping they know more details. Perhaps she was only receiving it because the other guy refused it. “This comes from the bounty men. It is your present for beating ‘The Stig’.” She takes the envelope, glancing inside of it as a smile crosses her face.

The money made her happy. That was a smile that was rare to see. Okay, so she’s doing this for money, we’ll say. Let’s say – on the run from new York and looking to start her life over, working as a diner girl and staying near Tyler. The cash would defiantly help her start her life over. Can’t argue with what she’s doing. However, that also means that when she ran, she didn’t have that much money to begin with. Yeah, that clue doesn’t help.

“Thank you,” she states as she shakes his hand. “It’s a pleasure doing business with you.” Why can’t I have that nice polite behavior?

“Did you find out his identity or anything about him?” Now here’s an interesting tidbit. She did find out some details about me – that she knows me away from here. Not like that would help Rhodes out. Oh wait – the guy knows people and could have spies that would follow her. They could track each person that she knows and follow trace to try and find a car. Okay, maybe she better just keep her little trap shut.

“No I didn’t. However, when I do, make sure you have the money ready.” She’s really doing this for the money – that was the only reason. I wondered if she even had a single thought of caring towards me, a possible crush. Nah, that couldn’t be as it wasn’t like she knew anything about me.

“I will tell the boss. Thank you, ma’am.” I watch as she walks away.

Okay, back to my thoughts.

I thought back to the race. I watched the shoulders flinched and slammed the foot down as soon as I saw that. However, did I see the first movement or did my eyes head else where? Was I distracted? Nah, that couldn’t be it – I kept my eyes focused forward.

I wonder if the performance was down. I had been driving her hard over the past couple of weeks. Maybe she needed a tune-up, or perhaps everybody had upped their game with the bounty in mind and I needed to. There were possible performance upgrades that Marshall, Ron and I had discussed. Maybe it was time to implement those, plus go through everything carefully.

I guess I was stuck doing that myself considering that neither wanted anything to do with it – unless I convinced someone else to help me. Chad always liked working on cars. Could suggest some time out of the shop to let the pressure off and such and spend time working on the car. Dale also knew his way around a car, or so he said. That may be a good option considering as he would perhaps be able to help me with things that I hadn’t been able to think of myself. Anybody see that sweet ride that he got done? Yeah, that orange and black beauty could probably hit a nice speed quick.

“It seems your game is off tonight,” I hear, snapping me out of my thoughts. I turn my eyes to the source and immediately shiver. David Rhodes. The man actually decided to show his face. I can’t blame him as he seems to have the upper hand tonight.

“I could still beat you if forced to race you, and we all have a couple races that we let go.” I hoped those words were the truth and based on my night so far, I hoped that I wouldn’t have to race him right now. I just wanted to head home and start going through this car as discussed.

“I don’t like to pick on a man while he’s down so I’ll give you a chance to fix things for next week. Besides, it seems you have other problems.” I know what he was referencing. Why doesn’t he just admit that he’s the man behind it? It wasn’t such a big secret anymore!

“You wouldn’t know about those problems, now would you?” It was risky playing the tough card on a night like tonight, but I couldn’t show any ability to back down what so ever.

“Sweetheart, let’s just say that you better watch your tail.” He then turns and heads off before I can even respond, but easily that was a good response in saying that he was responsible without admitting it.

He was right to say that, though, as I knew that my tail was getting closer to being on the line and revealed. If I had any hope of fixing things, I knew that I had a short period of time to fix what was going on.

 

Chapter 24: sʇןnsǝɹ ǝɥʇ

Candiss’ POV

A smile is locked on my face. Did I actually beat him? Did I actually just cross the finish line first? Confirmation from the spotters that I did and I can’t wipe the smile off my face.

Okay, let’s face it – I have won my share of races so this isn’t something that is new to me. But that doesn’t mean that I’m not surprised that I beat HIM since he’s supposed to be unbeatable and look at how he beat me before.

Perhaps there is something off with him or his car. Maybe that race earlier did some damage or something. Nah, that can’t be it. I did it on pure skill and truth. Okay, so maybe my looks and his little boy crush of playing me like the perfect girl is working. If that’s the case, allow me to wear a short skirt, high heels and some make-up next week.

I climb out of the camaro, accepting a couple high-fives as I walk over towards him, smile staying locked on my face. There was no way that I was letting the smile fade anytime soon as I was very happy about my accomplishment tonight.

“As I was saying, I could beat you,” I start, knowing that if he is getting his game thrown off by me, the behavior should continue.

“Let’s face it – you can get lucky here and there,” he offers and I can only laugh. That was a saying that some people did say, but let’s face it – I beat him and he doesn’t want to let that sink in.

“You can keep telling yourself that. But remember, this is the second time that your ass has been beat tonight.” I know it’s not nice to beat a man when he is down, but you have to understand my objectives here tonight. Let me live this up as much as possible so that way it keeps playing its effect.

“I’ll keep your advice in mind. Now, what’s the question that you have to ask?” My mind instantly goes blank. I totally had forgotten about even trying to come up with a question. I had some ideas the other day, but they were disappeared now in the moment of the thrill of victory. I had to figure out something to ask.

“Do I know you?” The question was simple, yet should help lead to the answer. If he answered yes, then I would only go through the people that I have met and crossed paths with a couple times. If he answered no, then I would have to do some serious investigating. In theory, it was probably a dumb question because how would he know me?

“Yes, you do.” Wait. He does know me? But where? But how? Who the hell are you Stig? Deep breath, stay calm. Can’t let his answer faze me. I can play with the answer after I leave him alone.

“Simple answer. Very intriguing. I’ll keep that thought in mind. You better be on your game next week.” Simple, thoughtful. Leaves him with a good thought till we meet again.

“Same goes to you. I’ll only let you win once to let you think you have the upperhand.” I have to laugh as he can keep thinking that I beat him by luck, but that’ll just build him a deeper hole. I know what I did, and I was prepared to keep doing that.

“Keep telling yourself that….” I then walk away, knowing that nothing else needs to be said, sharing a couple quick high-fives as I walk back towards my car.

The entire walk I kept thinking of his answer. He said that he knew me. So that meant that is was someone that I had crossed paths with. Considering that I had just came to North Carolina, that meant that the options were limited.

Tyler was the primarily person that I knew down here, but it wasn’t certainly him. I would’ve seen him going out and such when I was going out, and he was already in for the night.

So it had to be someone that I had met at the diner as the only places that I went were the diner for work, grocery store for some food for myself, and then back home. But who could it be from the diner? Who would be significant enough to stand out? who would be the type of person to find here?

I instantly freeze, glancing back at the camaro, shaking my head. No, it couldn’t be. Sure, he loved speed. Sure, he knew how to go fast. But be racing on the strip? It’d explain why he wanted to keep his identity a secret so badly. It would explain the selective behavior. But no, it couldn’t be Jimmie Johnson. That’d be insane. It had to be someone else – anyone else.

Taking a deep breath, I begin to think through each employee and customer that has crossed my path, trying to narrow down my options.

“Ma’am?” I hear and glance towards the source of the voice. I keep my eyes on the skinny guy as he walks up to me with an envelope in his hand. I had seen him give one out earlier tonight, so it didn’t mark a surprise that he’d be doing it. So this was the source of the bounty? This couldn’t be the guy who was incharge of it, though. Why would that guy step out and show his face? “This comes from the bounty men. It is your present for beating ‘The Stig’.” I accept the envelope, glancing inside of it as a smile crosses my face. That was defiantly a good payday and would go great towards putting away for some money for a place of my own. Perhaps I could get that place sooner than I originally thought.

“Thank you,” I say, shaking his hand. I knew that I had to keep him in my good books, for he will be a good source of ‘income’ as we move forward. “It’s a pleasure doing business with you.”

“Did you find out his identity or anything about him?” Oh yes I did. However, how would the information that I found out – that he knows me outside of here – help this guy? Yeah, doesn’t seem necessary or worthy of a payday. If anything, this guy and his men would want to kidnap me and work me harder in finding the identity for them, for whatever reason that they wanted. Nope, I wasn’t about to get close to anymore evil people. I had enough of them already.

“No I didn’t. However, when I do, make sure you have the money ready.” I knew that I’d find the information before anybody else. I knew that the plan that I had in mind of slowing find out the details would lead to the information that I wanted and I would speak before anybody else – or at least that’s what my brain was telling me.

“I will tell the boss. Thank you, ma’am.” I then continue my walk, placing the envelope carefully in my pocket. Successful payday – woohoo.
Chapter 25: “What were you thinking?”

Successfully securing the car in her new hideout and promising to stop by at least twice before next Wednesday to do some work, I headed home, ready to put this night behind me.

I had a lot of thinking to do, obviously, given what had happened. There was no doubt that I had to figure out what was going on and quick or else there’d be more trouble than I could probably control. Hopefully a nice hot shower would calm me down enough to get some sleep. Perhaps a fresh perspective in the morning was what I needed most.

Though pulling into my driveway, I could only roll my eyes as I wouldn’t get that peace and quiet that I wanted. Why was he here? Why couldn’t he have waited to the morning? Did Malcolm tip him off or something? Did he know what happened?

I park in the driveway, slowly shutting the car off as I keep my eyes on him as he leans against his car. Figures that he’d show up and spoil the quietness that I was hoping to enjoy. Well, I can’t avoid this forever.

I then slowly get out, closing the door behind me as I keep my eyes locked on his. I know he has something to say and it isn’t pleasant based on his body language, so why doesn’t he just speak?

“What were you thinking?” Those were the first words that escaped his lips. Rather than nice and polite, it’s straight out as to asking. Obviously he had been down to see Marshall, or been spying on tonight’s activities. Either way, it didn’t give him a pleasant attitude tonight.

“We’ve been through this multiple times, Ron, so why bother?” I question as I walk past him towards the house. It seemed that he’d bring this up at least once a week in an effort to change my mind because he didn’t agree with it, saying that it was too dangerous. Considering what has happened lately, maybe he has a point. But that’s not what I’m about to tell him.

“Yeah, we’ve been over this a bunch of times, but I was willing to let it go because at least you had Marshall with you. But now going alone?” As I suspected, he’s done some snooping of his own. Got to love a guy like that. So great to have your own friends spying on you and going behind your back.

“So how’d you find out?” I might as well find out his secret ways because hey, I’m curious. Wouldn’t you be?

“I went to see Marshall to get an update on how things are going with this ‘bounty’ thing. Considering you won’t be truthful about it all the time, I had to go about my own ways. He then reveals the discussion that you two had the other day and how you went tonight on your own. Again, I ask – what the hell were you thinking?” Obviously he doesn’t get how simple it is to go about this business on your own. Obviously nobody believes that I can handle myself. I’m a grown adult. I can take care of my own business, people!

“I was thinking that I wanted to have some fun on the streets as I have been the past couple of months and how this didn’t change a thing. I have a way of doing it – I’m sure Malcolm explained how. I have everything under control. You don’t need to worry.” of course that was an all out lie considering what had happened throughout the past night, but hey, let’s not worry his little heart. Besides, he just needed to know enough to leave me alone.

“Oh really? I don’t need to worry when you’ve lost a pair of races and it seems that people are finding out information about your identity. Like that girl – she found out that she knows you from somewhere else.” It was like I couldn’t move. I was frozen in place right there in my shoes as my eyes turned to face him. It was like he was reading everything that had happened so easily.

“How do you know that?” Again, I’m curious. Don’t say that you’re not.

“I was there. I’m always there, Jimmie. I go every week and watch from the same perch where nobody can see me.” I knew it! I knew that he couldn’t stay away!

“I knew that you had to be there each week some ho-”

“So tell me again how you have everything under control and working in your favor, Jimmie.” I guess I couldn’t take the lying route with him anymore. Those weren’t going to get me anywhere. I might as well tell him the truth. He knows his way around cars – somewhat better than I do – so perhaps he could help my dilemma.

“Those were the first two races that I’ve lost in awhile. Sure, it created a bit of stir but it’s nothing that has me worried. It keeps them on their toes as they know what they can do, and it makes me seem more human. Besides, it keeps the girl’s interest and don’t I want that?” Okay, that shouldn’t have been said. I wish I could take that line back right away. “I’ve chalked up the loss to either being flustered by the girl, the car needing some work done as she’s been driven hard over the past couple of weeks, or just flustered by Malcolm not being there.” As I said, I couldn’t lie anymore so I might as well be open with him. Besides, Ron knew me better than anyone. If I was going to get through this mix of thoughts, it was good to have my best friend on my side.

“Considering your admission that the girl has your attention and you want to keep her interested, let’s go with that. She’s distracting you, obviously, from the task at hand, because you’re so keen in trying to get closer to her.” Like I said, Ron knew me better than anyone. As much as I wanted to chalk up every other reason in the book for losing tonight, that was the one reason that kept returning.

“I’ve never felt this way about someone before. I’ve never felt so drawn to someone to be with them. She just captures my attention so easily, Ron.” I admit it. I’ve got it bad for her.

“She said that she knows you outside of the street racing. How?” He’s just going to love me once I tell him the details.

“She works at the diner for Tyler. She was a model in New York and things went affray – either bad boyfriend, or something illegal went down. She promised to never go back and made the move down to North Carolina, moving in with Tyler and working at his diner. Her name is Candiss Vanders.” That’s what I knew about this girl. No other fun details beyond that. Well, I could tell you more about her personality and why I liked her, but that wasn’t necessary.

“So well you’re racing against her at the strip and getting to know her with your question period, you’re trying to reel her in with lunches at the diner.” And now everybody knows why I keep attending the diner for lunch a couple times a week.

“I admit – that’s what I’m doing. Is there anything wrong with that?” Ron simply shakes his head no – which is good. If he told me that I was doing the wrong thing in trying to capture this girl’s heart, I would’ve smacked him.

“Just be careful on how closely those lines blur because you don’t want your crush on her causing other problems. If they get a hold of your identity, goodbye career and a whole lot of other things.” And now Ron was back to being the control, worried person that I always knew.

“I know. Like I said, I have this under control and I can handle this.” I hope.

“So you’re going to win next week?” Is that even a question?

“I’m going to do whatever it takes to get back on top, including some nights working on the car. Can you join me? I may need your help.” It’s worth a try to ask him, considering that he’s there each week in secret anyway.

“I don’t mind getting my hands dirty. Text me the address and let me know what night.” He then opens the door to his car, set to leave. I have obviously satisfied him – just enough – for him to leave me alone for the night, thankfully. However, there was one question that I had.

“Ron, why are you there each week? What’s your reason for being there watching?” It was simple. He couldn’t stay away as he enjoyed it as much as I did. I just wanted to hear him admit the truth himself. “You can tell me the truth. I won’t tell anyone.”

“I care about you. I don’t want to see you get hurt or screw this up for yourself. For that reason, I’m there hiding in the weeds, waiting to strike and help you should something happen. You should consider yourself lucky that you’ve got away with this as long as you have, and count your blessings before everything goes up in your face. Maybe it’s time to pull out. I’ll see you later.” He then climbs in the car and backs out, before I could even say another word.

He was the same old Ron Malec, worried that I was going to screw things up for myself. It was why he decided to leave me with that lasting thought, thinking that it’d consume my thoughts and change my mind. Did he honestly think that would happen? Nah.

He also considered that worry for being his reason for being there. I could partially understand as it would explain things. However, I also knew the type of person Ron was outside of work, at home, in the real world. This was the guy who attended the street races with me in California, right alongside me working on the car and even making a couple passes himself. He enjoyed it as much as I did with a wide grin on his face. While he may want to spew some excuse on my head, the truth was there within.

Leave a comment