Chasing The Love – Chapter 111: Birthday Present

Following lunch, Dale took Alyssa out shopping, allowing her to buy a new dress and shoes.

“So when do I get to see my boyfriend?” Alyssa asks as they leave the mall. Dale then glances over and smiles, having received a text message from Chase moments prior.

“How about now?” He offers and a big smile forms on her face. “Get in the car.” She easily accepts, relaxing the whole drive back to the house. They then drive up the property to the house and Dale turns the car off.

“I could’ve easily picked a dress from my closet and saw him if he was her-”

“You weren’t allowed to see him till he texted me at the right time, so it doesn’t work that way. Besides, I figured you deserved something special for your birthday.” He then leans over and gives her a quick kiss on the cheek. “Now, I’m getting the ATV and you’re going to get on it. I am then going to blind fold you to take you out to where he wants to meet up with you.” She then looks at her shocked and intrigued.

“Seriously?” Dale shakes his head yes as he opens the car door, glancing back at her.

“Boyfriend’s orders for his surprise.” She then lets out a sigh, easily following the instructions put in place by Chase. She climbed on the ATV and reluctantly allowed her dad to blindfold her.

“You’re lucky I trust you right now.”

“Don’t worry – it’ll be worth it in the end.” He then climbs in the driver’s seat, taking off quickly as she reaches for the bar in which she knows is ahead of her.

“Take it easy, please?!?” He then laughs as he slows down a touch.

“I had to take advantage of the chance to scare you.” She then rolls her eyes, hoping the ride would be over soon. Those instincts did end up being correct as about five minutes later, the ATV came to a stop. “I want you to step off and take 10 steps forward.” She then rolls her eyes as she lets out a sigh.

“Should’ve told me before I picked out a pair of heels.” She carefully places one foot on the ground, before following it with the other. Standing up slowly and reaching around to find her bearings, she takes the required 10 steps forward. “Now what?”

“From the moment I held you in my arms, I knew you were special,” she hears as a pair of arms wrap around her. If she didn’t immediately recognize the voice, she would’ve screamed. However, she instead relaxed as she knew those arms completely. “You had that special twinkle in your ey-”

“Can you reveal that twinkle so I stop looking like a nerd?” She cuts him off, hearing his familiar chuckle in response.

“Bare with me,” he tells her as he keeps his arms tightly wrapped around her. “I knew you just weren’t another regular person, but someone special. As you grew older, I stayed fond of you. I enjoyed the time we spent together, the laughs, playing with cars, and joking around. Sometimes I ask myself how I would’ve gotten through some of those days without you. When I needed an escape from everything, you were there. When I needed to just have fun and forget, I could count on you to make me laugh and play.” He then lightly kisses her cheek as a slight smile forms on her face. “You saved me, Alyssa, in a way.”

“You saved me too, as you were there for my nightmares and everything that I was going through.” He then spins her around so they’re facing each other, with her still blindfolded.

“I don’t know where it turned into love, but I do know that I wouldn’t change a single thing. I love you and nothing will change that, ever. I want to spend the rest of my life with you. I want to keep growing closer. I want to hold you in my arms and let you complete me. Happy birthday, Alyssa.” He then leans in and kisses her lips, slowly sliding the blindfold off her eyes.

“Chase….” She lets out after the kiss, taking in the view behind him.

In a spot of empty field on the property, there now stood a gazebo. She could lightly hear the tune of a song starting, smiling as she recognized it immediately to being one of the first songs they heard together. She could see a table with two spots for people to sit. Combined with the lighting, rose pedals – it was more than she could’ve dreamed for.

“How did I get so lucky to deserve all this?” She asks as he keeps his eyes locked on hers.

“Because you’re special and you deserve something special,” he answers. “I couldn’t think of what to get for your birthday. Every single materialistic thing just didn’t seem right. However, as soon as I thought about this idea, it was perfect. A sweet romantic night for just the two of us to spend some quality time together alone, relaxed, not a care in the world.”

“It’s better than any gift you could’ve bought and wrapped and gave me. It’s perfect, Chase, just like you.” She then kisses his lips once again before they walk up to the table.

Dale couldn’t help but smile in watching the pair walk away from him together as he drove away on the ATV back to the house. He had always dreamed his girls would find the perfect love that he found in Marie. He didn’t ever think it’d be Chase, but it was fine by him. He knew he could trust Chase more than anything, and knew that Chase would never hurt his little girl.

With everything that had happened over the years, it was nice to see the children get some quiet time and peaceful bliss just to themselves. It was nice to take a break from the insanity, and perhaps find the peace that they all so willingly wanted and felt they deserved.

It was just a question of whether the demons from the past would remain hidden in the closet.

 

THE END

 

I didn’t just come back to write this ending as that’d be pretty silly. Stay tuned as I can PROMISE you that I have a killer sequel in store for you.

2 thoughts on “Chasing The Love – Chapter 111: Birthday Present

    1. I apologize for the lack of updates as I’ve been busy with everything that comes with being a journalist in writing for a NASCAR website, and running my own short track website. I can’t promise that these updates will come consistently either, but here and there I am going to try and throw up a chapter or two from a wide variety of stories. There will be more of Chase and Alyssa, don’t worry. I plan on starting on that story in the next couple of days.

      Like

Leave a Reply

