The Journey – Chapter 3: Girl Talk

While the boys were busy doing their Daytona media activities, it seemed like the perfect time for Devon and Shelby to have a girl’s day out together to discuss things, and have some fun.

“So, I don’t want to bring it up if you don’t wan-” Shelby starts as they eat lunch together.

“How I’m doing, the attack, and all those gory details?” Devon cuts her off and Shelby slowly shakes her head yes, agreeing. “It’s okay, we can talk about it. It’s better to talk about it as that way it helps it be easier to deal with and handle.” Shelby sits back surprised, as it was interesting to look at how reserved and quiet Devon was about things before, and how she was being open now.

“Are you sure?” Devon shakes her head yes. Through discussions about getting pregnant and getting further removed from what happened, it was becoming easier and easier for her to handle. There were certain moments where she’d get nervous about something, or have a nightmare, but those times were becoming less and less as she grew more comfortable. “Okay…”

“I still have my moments. I still have nightmare or two. I still have a flashback or two. There are certain situations that I can’t handle as they make it nervous. However, it’s getting better and easier. I’m able to talk about it more as we are here, and I’m able to start moving forward with each passing day.”

“That’s great to hear. I mean, I don’t know what else to say except I’m happy for you and Ryan.”  It brought a smile to her face as well as it was nice to be moving forward. Now it was just about making the rest of the pieces come together to truly make things right.

“I’m happy, too. I just wish that the rest was easier.” Shelby then looks at her a little confused. “I was told that I wouldn’t be able to get pregnant due to the scar tissue, but we’ve done our research and it is possible, as long as we’re careful. The only problem with that is my wonky cycle.”

“I can understand that. They say that the cycles are sometimes dependent on stress and other factors that can mess it up.” Devon shakes her head, having read that and heard it first hand from the doctor the other day.

“Now imagine sitting in a doctor’s office getting an explanation of how the ovulation cycle works, and how to tell the best times to get pregnant and all that for that reason.” The thought only brought a chuckle to Shelby’s mind as she could imagine the lack of maturity of men coming into play here. “What?”

“So how mature was Ryan when it came to the gory details?” Devon was actually surprised in what she was about to say, given what she had expected.

“He was better behaved than I thought. He didn’t make those unfamiliar responses, or shy away. He was very mature about it.” Shelby shook her head in disbelief.

“That’s a surprise.”

“Well come on now, we’re talking about Ryan here. Now if it was Bubba, we may be in trouble.” Shelby chuckles and shakes her head in agreement, knowing how some of the other serious discussions had turned with him. It was even worse when Ryan or Chase were around. “It was actually a good experience. There’s no magic answer, but we have suggestions and way to get things so I’m regular and than that way it is easier to track.”

“Such as?”

“Reducing the stress in my life, so in the other words, doing what we’re doing and talking about things, getting further away from that. Beyond that, some relaxation exercises, regular exercise in general and taking some nutritional supplements as supposedly that was off as well.”

“So with doing all that to get your cycle regular so you can tell when your day 12-14 are in your cycle, you should be able to get pregnant?” Devon shakes her head yes. “So in other words, I should be planning for a baby shower later this year?” Devon rolls her eyes.

“I’m not doing a big baby shower, or party or anything. A small get-together with friends is all that I need.” Shelby puts her hands up, fine with that.

“And wedding planning?” Devon rolls her eyes as she hadn’t even thought about that. However, it seemed that everybody else was, ranging from Shelby to Ryan’s mom Karla.

“Can we not talk about that? I’m happy being engaged right now and working on everything else. We can deal with that later on.” Shelby couldn’t help but smile, though. She was always the life of party, and liked planning events. It was why she was set to get started right away.

“It doesn’t mean that we can’t look at dresses and think of ideas, right?” Devon rolls her eyes.

“And I thought that this would be a simple way to spend time with my friend.”

One thought on “The Journey – Chapter 3: Girl Talk

Leave a Reply

