A Proposal – Chapter 7

Thanks for reading and reviewing 🙂

 

Early January 2016 

 

Let’s take it slow, I don’t wanna move too fast
I don’t wanna just make love, I wanna make love last
When you’re up this high, it’s a sad goodbye

 

While the original plans had been to simply cuddle till his flight in the early morning hours, there were other things that were going through both of their minds. Emma knew that she couldn’t go a whole week without feeling him close to her, especially so closely after the most magical moment of their life – engagement.

Knowing his eyes were focused on her, as he wanted to mesmerize her beauty before leaving, she slowly let her fingers trail down her chest, slowly undoing each button, one by one after each other.

“Was sleeping even in your plans?” He asks and she simply smiles. It seemed that they were both already on the same page, without a method to the madness announced.

“Is there a problem with that?” She questions and he shakes his head no.

“Why didn’t you do this sooner?” The only thing that was flooding through his mind as he mentioned the words – time. Glancing at the clock behind her, it seemed that in the flip of some hours and minutes, he’d be on the plane and off to Canada for the week.

“Cause I wasn’t sure whether you wanted to celebrate by cuddling, or otherwise.” He knew that explanation was a load of crap since they both knew their ways.

“I think you know the answer to that as soon as you stated it.” She laughs, shaking her head as the answer was obvious. Was there any other way to celebrate an engagement?

“So what are you going to do now that I held out for awhile?” He contemplated the ideas, but knew that none of them would be fair for the situation because for that night, all that mattered was each other and love. “Besides, I may want to go get some cake instead.” She then goes to leave the bed, though he grabs her hand, causing her to lock eyes with his. There was no way that he was being stood up in this moment for cake.

“Now now, it’s not nice to be a tease, Ms. Blaney.” She then chuckles as she sees the playfulness in his eyes.

“Now now, it’s not nice to drop a ring on a girl’s finger and then leave the country.” He could let out a sigh in hearing that response. It certainly made him feel more guilty about how things had come together. However, he couldn’t wait a whole week to ask her later.

“I told you my reasons for doing that. Besides, distance lets the heart grow fonder. It’ll just make things even more sweeter than we reunite.” He then leans towards her, kissing her lips lightly. Perhaps increasing the temptation could distract away from conversation, and more towards action.

“I have heard that before…”

“We can prove it’s true….or not….”

“And if it isn’t?” He then smiles as he looks into her eyes – this was simpler than he thought.

“That’s why I am doing this tonight the way that I am.” He then wraps both arms around her, kissing her lips with even more passion than before. He figured a simple increase in the passion would allow that temptation to easily grow.

“Lance….” She tries to catch her breath afterwards, not believing he amount of passion that she felt. She knew that he loved her and could kiss her lips in a dear fashion, but that wasn’t expected.

“I’ve told you so many times that I love you…” He then kisses her lips once again.

“I just wasn’t expecting that…or this…” He then smiles as he brushes a bit of hair out of her eyes.

“I love you so much. That’s why I asked you to marry me. That’s why I am cuddling here with you. That’s why I kissed you so passionately. That’s why I want to do this tonight….and I want to do it the right way – fair, meaningful, slow, passionately.” He then kisses her lips once again as her hands find their way underneath his shirt, slowly pulling it off. Once the shirt is thrown aside, he wraps his arms around her, kissing her shoulder. She lays her head back slightly, allowing him to work the kisses up her neck, followed by more on the lips. A trail of kisses would certainly be something to hold on while she awaited his return. “I love you, Lance. You’re special to me all the time.”

“Awe you are special to me too…” A twirl finds his eyes as the kisses were all great, but he knew that he wanted to make most of the time that they had before he had to leave.

“Well then let me show you just how special you are…” He then pins her back down against the bed.

**************************

“So, you promise to text me as soon as you know when you’re leaving Toronto so I can meet you here?” She asks as they reach the airport in the early hours of the morning.

“I promise,” he tells her, before kissing her lips. “I also promise to text you each day, and call you each night as well. Don’t worry – the week will be done before you think so.” He then gives her one final kiss before heading inside the airport to catch his flight.

Glancing at her ring, she could only help but smile.

It felt nice to be so in love. It felt nice to be engaged. It felt nice to have a sweet moment together before he left.

Taking a deep breath, she knew that the week would probably go faster than her heart felt it would.

 

The End

 

Be sure to stay tuned for the sequel “A Season’s Quest”, which will focus on Lance’s second full year in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driving for Brad Keselowski Racing, while dating Emma Blaney.

 

Leave a Reply

