Rekindling – Chapter 3

You got your hands up
You’re rocking in my truck
You got the radio on
You’re singing every song

Sitting in the barn together, the pair sat on the ground and ate the meal with ease. They discussed a couple of things, from some of her lingering feelings to Ryan’s worries.

“I just….I didn’t want to push it and hurt you,” he offers. “I saw that you were hurting and it was tough on you. I just didn’t want to push you into doing something that you were uncomfortable with. I wanted to sit and wait and be patient.” She then shakes her head as she listens.

“And where has that gotten us?” She questions as he shrugs his shoulders.

“It’s better than hurting you, because I don’t think I could live with doing that to you. I love you, and want to do everything to protect and love you. One of those things includes being patient here.” She then glances into his eyes.

“But there’s something else in those eyes….” He shakes his head, knowing the feelings that he has felt.

“It’s been hard to be patient. I miss those cuddles. I miss the make-out sessions. I miss the nights we’d get in the big tub together with bubbles and relax. I missed those long nights where we were totally open with each other. It’s been hard – not as hard as when we first met, but it’s been hard. However, it’s nothing in relation to what you went through so I knew that I could handle it.” Her eyes glance down towards the ground as she lets out a small sigh.

“I guess I could’ve been a little more open and accepting. I should know that you won’t hurt me.” She then slowly looks back up into his eyes. “I’m sorry.” He then reaches out for her hand.

“You have nothing to apologize for. It’s not your fault for what happened, or how you’ve felt afterwards. It’s natural, and it’s okay. Like everything thus far, we will work our way through it – as we are here.” She believed those words. It was odd sometimes with Ryan. Before, she was scared of opening her heart, and letting feelings affect her. Before, she would shy away and not let anything touch her. Though there was something about the way that he was with her that it helped bring everything out, good or bad. It seemed she was finding that quality once again tonight as she kept her eyes locked on his.

“I want to remember how good it was. I want to go back to that.” He then lightly grabs her other hand, holding them both together.

“I’m willing to show you, only if you’re ready.” She then shakes her head yes as he leans in and slowly kisses her lips, before pulling back. “If at anytime you want me to stop, you know how to do so. I don’t want to hurt you.”

“I’m not scared…and your lips taste wonderful tonight.” She then keeps him held close with her own hands as he leans in and places another kiss on their lips.

Just as they were getting into the groove for a good make-out session, the skies opened up, and no wonder it was an abandoned barn as there was water leaking in from all directions. They both then scurried up as quickly as they could, running to the truck and getting inside of it. Devon then looked over at Ryan, and simply laughed in seeing how soaked he looked. Though a glance in the mirror and she felt the same feeling, in seeing how soaked she had gotten.

“I still think you’re the most incredible, beautiful lady that I’ve seen,” he offers and leans in to kiss her lips.

“Even with my hair a total mess, tangled and messed up?” She asks and he shakes his head yes.

“It’s not about how you look on the outside – even though you are very beautiful, it’s all about what’s in here.” He then places his hand on her chest. “I fell in love with you during those early moments for this. I fell in love for you for the passion that you had. I fell in love because under that hard exterior, I knew there was a sweet person that would be perfect for me. That’s what truly matters.” He then pulls the keys out of his pocket.

“What are you doing? We escaped to get back to us. This is only part of th-”

“We can continue once we get home and are dried off. I don’t want you to get sick.” He then puts the key in the ignition, starting the truck up and pulls out of the driveway. The radio then comes on as she starts humming the tune to herself.

It makes me wanna go back in time, I know you remember when you and I, didn’t give a damn and we would go all night, 19 in 99.” Ryan rolls his eyes as he hears her sing out loud, though had to admire her voice. “What?”

“I just never thought you’d be singing this song.” She then looks at him surprised.

“You’re surprised. I am 24 now. Back when I was a teenager, the Backstreet Boys were the band to listen to and Nick Carter was the heart throb of America. Just because I have grown older doesn’t mean I don’t listen to his new music.” He just shook his head in disbelief. “What? Seriously?”

“So you’re a pop girl?” She then lets out a sigh.

“Right…I forgot that wasn’t the coolest thing to be doing in front of a racecar driver, who probably either listens to hip hop or country. You can put on Luke Bryan if you want. I don’t mind that at all as I can sing that, too.” He then smiles as he flips the radio station.

“By the way, you have a nice voice.” She smiles as she grabs on to his hand. He gives her a simple glance and a small smile, before focusing back on the road ahead.

The sooner they got home, the better.

Leave a Reply

