A Proposal – Chapter 6

Thanks for reading and reviewing 🙂

 

Early January 2016

I really hate to let this moment go
Touching your skin, and your hair falling slow
When a goodbye kiss, feels like this

Laying there beside each other, the pair let out a long sigh and smile with a glance towards each other. It felt great to be there together. It felt great to be have woven through the sheets as they did together. It felt even better to be engaged together.

“Happy engagement,” he offers as he takes the ring out of the box, and slips it on her finger.

“Thank you,” she replies as she leans in and kisses his lips afterwards. “It feels amazing to be this close to you. Who knew…” He simply smiles in response as he runs a hand through her hair.

“I figured that I’d make tonight special together before I headed off.” She immediately froze upon hearing those words, as the thought flashed through her mind. How could she forget?

“You’re heading back home for a week….by yourself…” He freezes upon hearing the words out of her mouth. “I honestly totally forgot that we discussed that and you bought the plane tickets. I forgot that it’d be tonight that you’d be going and gone for a whole week.”

“I’m sorry to bring you that realization when we’ve just had this special time together, but that motivated me even more to ask you before I went. I wanted to leave for the week on a real high, and knew that it was the right time to ask you because of how close we’ve gotten.” She shakes her head, understanding. She wasn’t upset with his approach. She was just upset that he was leaving to go to Canada for a week without her in toe. She didn’t want to let go of him.

“It’s fine. I like how you went about it, everything. I think it is perfect. I just forgot and it’s hitting me…” She then lays her head against his chest as he runs his hand through her hair some more. “I don’t want to be away from you. I want to hold you each night. I want to have our close cuddles and discussions. I want to have someone to come home to each night. I don’t want to be by myself for a wee-”

“I told you that you could come with me.” She shook her head no, immediately. She couldn’t leave this coming week. There were times that she could take time off of work, or work away from home, but this wasn’t the case. If she wanted to be with him and Ryan through the NASCAR season, she would need to spend the extra time right now.

“I can’t go away from the boutique right now, Lance. I need to be there as there’s things to get in order, and so that way things work through the seaso-”

“Your mom can handle things at the boutique for the week and you can work on your lapto-”

“I want to make that work, but I can’t okay?” She then takes a deep breath. “There’s a lot to running a business, and some times when you can’t step away. This is one of them as we choose some of our spring styles. I’m sorry.” He totally understood, having found himself in situations where he wanted to do something but couldn’t due to work. He wished that he could do things differently, but knew that this would be only his time to return home for a week before the season started. He didn’t mind being away from his family to race, but there had to be a balance and seeing his family at times.

“I understand. The good news is it’s only one week – seven days – and we can text each other, talk on the phone as much as you want to make it go by easier. It’s not like we’re totally not in contact with each other.” He then kisses her shoulder. “Besides, when I get home, this will all feel that much more special once again.” She then looks up into his eyes as she shakes his head. There was so much more to him than she originally knew.

“Underneath that sweet cowboy charm, there’s a naughty boy who likes to play.” He shrugs his shoulders as he keeps his eyes locked on hers.

“Let’s just say that I have a good play mate and enjoy the playtime that we have.” She then glances over at the plane tickets sitting on the night stand, noticing the bag that was already packed beside it. She realized that he must’ve packed the bag earlier in the day before their date.

“When do you fly out, again?” He had totally forgotten the time, except that it wasn’t far enough away for his comfort in this moment right now.

“Middle of the night, around 3am.” She then lets out a sigh as she pulls herself closer to him, which seemed impossible considering how close they already were. She wraps her arms around him as tightly as she could. That meant that they only had a couple of hours before he had to head to the airport.

“Stay with me till the last minute. Don’t leave early at all.” He shakes his head in agreement as he keeps running his hand through her hair, while holding her close with the other hand.

“I won’t move till the absolute last second.” He then kisses her forehead as they remain cuddled, no urgency to move any time soon.

Don’t you wanna stay here a little while?
Don’t you wanna hold each other tight?

2 thoughts on “A Proposal – Chapter 6

  1. I hope those evil girls don’t hit on him or anything in Canada. I loveeeeee the proposal. I hope they each have a good weekend and he gets to spend it all with his family then they get to return to their great lives in 7 days. love it pms.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

