Making Memories for a Lifetime – Chapters 56 Thru 60

makingmemoriesforalifetime

Chapter 56: The Results

“I can happily say that everything has been worth it,” the doctor tells her as faces of optimism and happiness begin to appear across the room.

“Is it all gone?” Angelica asks, hoping for the best answer that she could receive ever. The doctor shakes his head yes as the smile on her face grows. She looks towards Kyle, instantly wrapping her arms around him and kissing his lips.

“The scans showed no trace of cancer so you’ve done it. Congratulations.”

“Thank you for the good news.” She then wipes the couple of tears that have formed in her eyes away as she towards her dad with a smile on her face. Seeing no movement in him, she gets out of the bed and walks over to where he stands by the window. “You okay?” He shakes his head yes as he looks at her.

“I just can’t believe that it’s over,” he comments before pulling her into a hug and kissing her cheek. “I love you. You’re amazing.”

“Well, it’s not quite over yet,” the doctor then continues, causing Angelica and Dale to face him, fear and shock written over their faces.

“What do you mean?”

“She still has to work at growing her strength with everything that has happened and that will take time. Till that happens, you’re suggested to take it easy.” She shakes her head yes, agreeing. She was fine with doing that in knowing that everything would be okay.

“Don’t worry, we’ll take care of her,” Kyle assures the doctor.

“Also, I understand that we’re having some diet issues, correct?” Angelica shakes her head yes as she looks towards Tony, remembering his earlier pleads.

“I just haven’t felt like eating,” she answers truthfully.

“That’s normal,” the doctor comments as Dale keeps his arms wrapped around Angelica.

“But it can’t be good for her, though,” Dale says and the doctor shakes his head yes.

“You’re right about that. With chemotherapy, it causes the body to slow down to try to help itself – hence the lack of strength that we’re seeing. In the process, it can sometimes cause the person to be anorexic.”

“Will that improve with me getting better and being done treatment?” Angelica wonders out loud as the doctor thinks it over.

“In some patients it does, while in others it doesn’t,” the doctor starts. “That’s why I am arranging that you meet up with Christine Bentley, who is a dietitian here at the hospital. With her, you can work on continuing to get better, improving your eating habits and talking about things.” Angelica shakes her head accepting as she goes back over and sits on the bed.

“We’re all be there for you,” Kyle assures her as he kisses her shoulder. “I’ll be there for you.” He then kisses her cheek.

“Thank you for the news,” Dale says as he keeps his eyes focused on Angelica.

“You’re free to go,” the doctor tells her. “Your appointment is set up for tomorrow at 1 with Christine.” The doctor then leaves the room as everybody focuses their eyes on Angelica.

“I did it,” Angelica says simply as she gets up off the bed, smile planted on her face. “I can’t believe it but I did it.”

“We knew you would,” Kyle says as they walk out of the room together. “I told you that you could do it.”

“Now will you eat this?” Tony asks as he holds her a package of crackers and cheese.

“He’s not going to smile or hug you till you do,” Dale adds as Tony tries to hide his smile. He was happy that the treatment had worked, though also was sticking to his guns of helping her continue to get better and fight everything.

“Please?” She then grabs it from his hands at they step into the elevator and opens it.

“Happy?” Tony shakes his head yes as he lets the smile show through.

“I knew you couldn’t hide that smile much longer,” Angelica comments as she takes a bite of the cracker before hugging Tony.

“I’m glad you’re going to be okay kid,” he replies as he kisses the top of her head. “Now I suggest you eat when you’re told.” She rolls her eyes as she gets out of the elevator. “I mean it!”

“Now that you’re free, what do you want to do?” Kyle asks as they walk outside. A smile comes to Angelica’s face immediately as they get in the car. “I have a bad feeling about this guys.”

“Can we stop by Matt’s house?” Angelica asks and Dale shakes his head yes. If it wasn’t for Matt, they wouldn’t had done this and no doubt he deserved his thanks. “I want to let him know the news.”

“Let’s go see Matt and his trouble makers.”

“Are you eating those crackers?” Tony asks as they pull out of the parking lot. She then holds up the package, smiling.

“Got plans after we see Matt?” Kyle then asks and Angelica smiles. “Should I be scared of these plans?” She shakes her head yes.

“Angelica….” Dale starts as Angelica smiles.

“Yes Daddy?” She asks.

“What are you thinking?” She then winks at Tony and Tony just smiles.

“Don’t worry about it – I’ve got this handled,” Tony comments as Kyle looks towards him confused.

“Love you Smoke,” she says as she reaches over the seat and kisses his cheek. “Trust me Dad – this will be fine.”

“Las time you said that, you scared the crap out of me,” Dale comments as she laughs. “But if Tony knows what’s going on then I trust you.”

“Thank you.” She then looks over at Kyle. “Then we can have the night to ourselves. I think this calls for a special celebration together.”

“Just as long as you take care of yourself and get back to the tough strength filled chica that we know,” Kyle replies before kissing her lips. “I love you.”

“Love you too.” She then lies her head on his shoulder as they continue the drive to Matt’s house.

 

Chapter 57: Seeing Matt

After a short drive, they had arrived at Matt’s house. As instructed, Matt had joined Angelica on the front porch. She loved Katie and the girls, but she wanted to tell this news to Matt herself.

It was Matt that had suggested the idea. It was Matt that convinced her to go through with the idea. For what it was worth, she had Matt to thank for the life that she now had.

“So what’s up?” Matt asks as he sits on the bench, facing Angelica. She smiles as she thinks about the best way to tell Matt the news that she had just been told minutes prior.

“I have some news for you,” she starts as she looks up to meet his gaze. “I went to see the doctor this morning and they did some new scans to see how progress was. I got the results back already.” Matt felt the butterflies immediately begin to flutter in his stomach as he thought about those words.

“What did the doctor say? Angelica…” She then lets the smile come out and full force as she thinks about the best way to reveal this news to Matt.

“Take a guess.” She then sits back, smile planted on her face as she was seeing a fresh side on things with the news that she had received that morning. “How do you think it went?” Noticing the smile on her face, he knew that it had be good news as he let a smile cross his face.

“You’re in the clear?” She shakes her head yes as she reaches out and hugs him.

“Thank you, thank you, thank you.” She then pulls into a tighter hug as he wraps both his arms around her happy. There were so many thoughts as to whether it would work out. With her there now, saying the words, it sent a feeling of shock through him as in disbelief. She then backs up, smile still firmly planted on her face. “I owe everything to you, Matt.” She then slowly stands up, knowing that she has to get to part two of her plan for the day.

“You don’t owe me anything, Angelica. As long as you live the life that you deserve then I’ll be happy.” She smiles as she remembers the discussion that they had before on life choices and the chance to do whatever she wanted.

“That’s what I plan on doing.”

“That’s great.” He stands up as he looks towards, seeing the happy bunch of men. “So do you plan on fulfilling the first thing that you said you wanted to do once you were in the clear?” Angelica shakes her head yes as Matt looks at her with a worried smile. “Are you sure you’re ready for this?” She shakes her head yes as Matt stands there nervous. He hoped that they all knew what they were doing. She then starts down the steps, glancing back at Matt with a smile on her face.

“Wanna join us? I’d like you to be there as you were a big part in this. It’d mean a lot to me.”

“Let me go tell Katie and I’ll make my way over there.”

“Awesome.” Matt then heads inside as she makes her way down the steps and gets back in the car.

“Ready to go?” Tony asks and Angelica shakes her head yes, knowing the plan in mind as she texts Kasey. He had helped her put together her midget program and was the driving force behind Chelsea’s midget program that was to start next month. She knew that he was the perfect person to get involved in this plan as well.

“Yep,” she answers as they head out.

“Now where are we going?” Dale asks as Tony heads down one of the back roads. “Tony?”

“What do you have up your sleeve?” Kyle asks as he looks towards Angelica.

“Just wait and see,” she answers. “Tony, did you giv-”

“It’s done,” he cuts her off as a smile comes to her face. Everything was in place.

“Thank you Smoke.”

“Can you tell us now?” Kyle asks and Angelica shakes her head no. “So this is going to remain a secret till we get there?” She shakes her head yes.

“Are you sure you know what you’re doing?” Dale asks. “Are you sure this is a good idea? Are you su-”

“Just trust us, please,” Tony cuts him off as he heads down another road.

 

Chapter 58: A Surprise

Tony pulls into Rockingham Speedway as Angelica smiles stays firmly on her face while Dale looks back at her concerned. What was she doing?

“Trust me,” she tells him as she pats his arm while Tony drives through the infield. “I’ve got this under control. I know what I am doing.” Tony then stops the car and everyone glances around to see other cars in the parking lot. “Perfect.”

“What are we doing here?” Kyle asks as they get out of the car.

“Trust me.”

“I’m getting sick of those words,” Dale comments as he looks over the roof at Angelica. “What’s going on?”

“Get ready for her two favorite words,” Kyle warns as Angelica sticks her tongue out.

“Trust us,” Tony speaks up as they walk towards the building and inside.

“What are we doing here?” Dale asks as they walk down the short hallway.

“Angelica has called some ‘friends’ to join us for a special announcement.”

“Like I said – trust me,” Angelica adds as Dale stops frozen in the hallway.

“What type of announcement?” He asks as Angelica turns to face him. “Angelica?”

“Please go inside and take your seat at the front of the room – all three of you.”

“Why?”

“Trust me.”

“When are we going to find out why we’re here?” Kyle wonders as Angelica begins walking in the prepared direction.

“Give me 10 minutes and you’ll find out,” she states.

“Why 10 minutes? Why not right now?”

“Because that’s how this is going to work.”

“Let’s go guys,” Tony interrupts them, grabbing both Dale and Kyle’s arms, leading them through the doors. They go to their seats as both Dale and Kyle glance behind them, surprised at the faces that they see in the room.

“Do you know the full plan that she has up her sleeve?” Dale asks and Tony shakes his head yes as Kasey enters the room and sits beside them. “And you know also?”

“Know what?” Kasey asks as he glances over at Dale.

“Angelica hasn’t told these two yet what’s going on today,” Tony answers as Kasey smiles.

“I don’t like that smile,” Dale comments as Kasey just shakes his head. “Please tell me this is a good idea.”

“This is a good idea.”

“For some odd reason, I’m trusting you today.”

“Good because you won’t regret it.”

Tony knew what Angelica had in store was going to be great. SHR had a full house with Tony, Kyle, Danica and Kevin Harvick while HMS was full with Dale, Jimmie, Kasey and Chase. This seemed like the best option going. Though, that was only just a part of the surprise that was about to happen.

Tony’s smile grows as he watches Kelley walk in and join them.

“She ready to go?” She asks and Tony shakes his head yes as Kelley glances down at her brother, smiling. She then turns back to Tony. “You haven’t told him yet?” Tony shakes his head no. “Do you honestly think this is the best idea?”

“It’s the only option we have if she wants this to work,” Tony starts. “If he knew what she had coming today, you know shit would fly. This way, you have the team that you believe you can have and she has what she needs.” Tony glances at Dale before returning his eyes to Kelley. “Once it’s announced, he won’t have any option. Plus, you asked him the other day about doing this and he said he was open to it if the sponsorship and people were there. Both are there so there’s no issue.” Kelley smiles as she sits back in her seat nervous as they watch the door open and Angelica walks in, changed into a nice light blue dress and clear shoes.

“Damn…” Kyle comments as he takes in her appearance.

“Love you,” Angelica simply says as she walks by Kyle. She then walks to the stage, standing before the assembled crowd. She then looks down to her VIP person section, noticing everybody is there that needs to be there – Dale, Kyle, Tony, Lindsay, Kasey, Chelsea, Kelley, L.W., Karsyn, Kennedy, Wyatt, Matt, Katie, Gracie, Kaylin, Rick, Linda, Ron Malec and a couple others.

 

Chapter 59: Her Announcement

“Hello everyone,” she says as she stands before the crowd at the podium. “I would like to thank you for being here today and listening to what I have to say. I know this was put together with short notice as per my request so it means a lot that you’re here. I first off want to thank Tony Stewart and Kasey Kahne for helping me put this together. I have a lot to cover today so let’s get started.”

She then clears her throat, smiling forming on her face as she thinks about the news from that morning. She had told the people that deserved to know first, so now it was a given right to tell the world. Nothing would make sense without revealing it to them.

“I want to start off the day by stating the best news that I have received in a long time,” she spoke before the crowd that April afternoon. “I am happy to report that after discussions with my doctor this morning, the treatment was a success. The cancer is fully out of my system and I am free to go. I do have to keep tabs with doctors to make sure that we don’t have anything pop up, but we could say that it’s a success without worries.”

She then looks back towards her group, smile firmly planted on her face as she locks eyes with Matt. Their discussion from January stuck in her mind as she thought about the words that she said to him that day. Turning back to the crowd of media before her, she knew that she was doing the right thing.

“Earlier this year, I told someone that means a lot to me that I knew I had to fight for the life that I wanted,” she starts as she turns her eyes to Matt briefly, before turning back to the majority to the crowd. “I told them that I wanted to beat this to be able to have that life that I wanted. Whether that life included racing or not, whether that life was traveling or raising a family – I had to give myself the chance to live it.

“My motto through all of this is you have to take each moment that you have on this planet as your last moment. You can’t take anything for guaranteed. You have to live every moment as if it’s your last, doing whatever you can to fulfill whatever you dream have.” She then looks towards Lindsay with a smile on her face. “Sometimes you have to take those things that they tell you can’t do and try to beat them. Even if someone says you can’t do this, maybe you can; you just need to find that way that’s out there.” Lindsay smiles as she looks down, remembering that discussion that they had a couple weeks ago as Angelica turns back to the crowd. “Always live your life the best way you know how. The motto is – use every moment to make memories for those around you. Make memories that will last a lifetime because you never know when your last moment is here.

“With that said, having a second chance to live my life, I took into thought majorly how I wanted to live that life and that’s why I stand before you. I debated not coming back and racing again. It was a thought. However, I learned something and that lesson came courtesy of my young cousin Wyatt in the form of a trip to the dirt track. Racing is in my blood and no matter what I do, I can’t run away from it. I need it as much as life itself. The feeling of being behind the wheel is second to none. With that said, I’ve called you here to make a thrilling announcement.

“When I thought about coming racing, I knew my options were limited. Hendrick is full thanks to Chase Elliott, my dad, Jimmie Johnson and Kasey Kahne. I then turned to my previous boss, Tony Stewart, though realized he filled that house up with my hubby Kyle, himself, Danica and Kevin. Now, I could kick my hubby out since that was originally my ride and team, but I can’t do that to him. Kyle has done so much for me beyond words that I can speak to you that I’d feel terrible for that.”

Kyle smiles as he thinks over those words, though looks at Tony confused as to where Angelica is going with her announcement. Dale also joins in the confused look as he wonders what plan she has thought of.

“About a month ago, I found myself in a meeting with my dad and Aunt Kelley at JR Motorsports,” Angelica smiles as she glance over at her dad. “They were talking about starting up a Sprint Cup team. Though dad stated a key requirement – he wanted a driver that he knew could win, a crew chief that knew what they were doing and sponsorship. Well, let’s just say that I spoke to Kelley and we came up with a plan. I then turned to Rick Hendrick and he agreed to supply chassis and motors.” Dale then looks over at Kelley surprised as Kelley just smiles back.

“What did you do?” Dale questions as Kelley’s smile widens.

“You listed some requirements and you have always said that I need to take a role in making decisions without requiring your input every day,” Kelley whispers. “This is my first decision and you can’t argue because she fulfilled your requests beautifully.” Dale then turns his eyes back to his daughter.

“My first start will come next year at the Daytona 500,” Angelica continues as she looks at the crowd. “And I’m pleased to announce that we have chosen a car number and have a sponsor. I will be going with my original 25 that I have always ran.” Rick smiles as he remembers when she put the number on her legend having used it throughout the years for sports in school. “I am also pleased to announce that Tesla’s Beauty Clique will be sponsoring the car. Tesla Williams is a brand new clothing designer and make-up designer that is launching her line next week. The dress that I am wearing, as well as the make-up, is part of her collection. I want to thank Tesla for sponsoring me, as well as for this beautiful dress. Without further ado, please welcome Tesla Williams to the stage.”

Everyone then claps as a tall girl with long brown hair makes her way to the stage and stands by the car that is covered by a grey sheet.

“Part one complete,” Kelley whispers as Dale rolls his eyes. How did they do this under his nose?

“At the end of my series of announcements, everybody involved will be allowed to comment and answer questions for you because I know you have some,” Angelica speaks up. “Now with team, sponsor and car number locked down – there was one piece missing. I needed to find that perfect crew chief. Kelley laid out some good options, but I shook my head at them. If I was going to make a comeback, there was only one person that I was doing it with.” She then glances towards Tony and Kyle with a smile on her face. “This took some careful steps because I didn’t want to reveal to Kyle what I had planned. I met with Tony in private and discussed options. He told me that he would try his best to make it work. He was able to get in contact with Jimmy Elledge, who has previously worked with Kyle. The pair got along really well and Tony thought pairing Kyle with Jimmy could produce some serious success. Luckily, it worked out as to that Jimmy agreed, Tony agreed, and Kyle, well, we kept this secret from him.”

She then takes a deep breath as she looks over at Kyle. She knew this was the big moment.

“You told me when I wanted that I could have my team back,” she starts. “Well, I’m holding you to your word, but also not leaving you stranded. Ron came to you and said that he was leaving SHR without stating more terms because of what Tony and I had worked out. I’m glad that you accepted Jimmy Elledge for next year and I look forward to battling you for the championship.”

Kyle smiles and shakes his head, now realizing that all the meetings made sense. She was right though as he didn’t mind being paired with Jimmy and he knew that could equal huge success. It also kept it in the family given the relationships across the board.

“So without further ado, please welcome my crew chief for next year to the front of the room – Ron Malec,” she announces as Ron stands up from the group and joins Tesla by the car.

It felt good to get everything out in the open as he hated having to keep things secret from everyone. As he caught Angelica’s eyes, he couldn’t help but think back to last season when they won the championship together. He knew they could repeat that success if they found that old magic that they had together.

“Part two complete,” Kelley whispers as she looks over at her brother. “Are you willing to accept doing a Cup team now?” Dale shakes his head yes as he smiles.

“I can’t believe you hid this from me though,” Dale adds as Kelley laughs.

“You can blame your daughter. She wanted this to be a surprise.”

“Welcome back Ronnie,” Angelica says as she locks eyes with Ron before returning to face the crowd. “With the help of Tony, we took one of the SHR showcars to wrap up with the paint scheme for next year. Like I said, this took a lot of work to put together. So without any more fancy words from me, why don’t we display my favourite new car?”

She then walks over to the car and looks towards Ron and Tesla. The three of them then pull the sheet back slowly, revealing a bright pink No. 25 Tesla Beauty Clique Camaro underneath. Rick smiled immediately as he notice the small silver stars amongst the pink, realizing that it matched that of her Legend car. They then pose for photos together as Angelica motions for Dale and Kelley to join her. They then join her as the flash bulbs go off, taking photos of the car.

“Are you okay with this?” Angelica whispers to her dad as they pose for photos.

“You’re amazing to put this together yourself,” Dale whispers in return. “But I have no reason to be mad at you. It’s amazing.” He then kisses her cheek.

“I love you. Thank you for being the most amazing dad ever.” She then walks over to the podium as Ron, Tesla, Dale and Kelley take their seats. “Okay, now that we’ve gotten the biggest surprise out of the way, let’s reveal the rest of my plans.”

 

Chapter 60: Her Announcement Part 2

“To go with my return to the Sprint Cup Series, we’re going to do a special promotion,” Angelica continues as she stands there, facing the crowd. As she gets ready to speak of the promotion, Kelley just smiles as she remembers discussing the plans for doing this. “That beautiful bright pink sparkly paint scheme that you saw there will not be running in the Daytona 500. Instead, we have another special surprise.

“Given the fight that I went through, I wanted to give back and help inspire others, while raising money knowing from experience myself. Valentine’s Day is supposed to be about showing love for each other. To show love, you use your heart and for your heart to live, you need lungs. In part of a cross-promotion, the No. 25 Tesla Beauty Clique Camaro will be going red for Daytona Speedweeks with a special hood. The hood and full red paint scheme will be unveiled in Speedweeks. It is meant to honor those battling heart and lung diseases, while raising money.

“Tesla Williams have graciously stepped up to the plate and will be donating 25% of her sales during the Speedweeks time period towards research for treatment of lung cancer. On top of that, we’ve teamed up with Lionel Racing and 25% of proceeds from sales of the diecast will also go towards research. Lastly, special t-shirts will be done up via JR Motorsports to also help collect donations. Once we have a total at the end of the month of February, I will take that total and double it using my own money and present it to three different foundations that I choose at that time.”

Angelica feels tears threaten to fall as she clears her throat. She glances over at her support group, seeing the mixed emotions on their faces. Everybody looks happy about the idea, though she notices the tears in the eyes of some.

“I know the pain that someone goes through,” she starts. “I know the battles those diagnosed faced. After going through the experience myself, I knew that I had to do something to help improve it for other people.”

“Did you know about this?” Dale whispers and Kelley shakes her head yes.

“It was all her idea,” Kelley replies. “She thought of it and went forth with asking permission from everybody to do it.”

“My mother died due to lung cancer so I can relate to what she has been through and when she asked, there was no second guessing doing something to help,” Tesla explains as both Dale and Kelley smile.

“Thank you for sponsoring her and thank you for helping in this promotion. I look forward to working with you and bringing you success on track.” Dale then sits back as he watches Angelica get set for another announcement that she had up her sleeve. “I can’t believe that she’s my daughter.”

“You raised an angel,” Rick comments from his seat behind Dale as he pats Dale on the shoulder.

“I owe you huge for your help,” Dale replies. “I couldn’t had done it without you and Linda.”

“I told you I’d always be there for you and I was glad to help. I’m just glad that everything has worked out for her in every respect.”

“Alright, I got my notes in order,” Angelica breaks the silence in the room as all eyes draw back on her. “This is what happens when I’m excited, nervous and pulling a whole bunch of things together at once.” She then glances over at her family, smile on her face. “Family means the world to me. I was given the opportunity to grow as a racer thanks to Rick Hendrick and Kasey Kahne. For that, I am ready to give back in that respect and help the next generation of racers in our family.

“Karsyn, you’re amazing darling and I look forward to being your sort of unofficial teammate at JR Motorsports. You’re amazing racecar driver and I was proud to say that you’re my cousin when you won your first Nationwide Series race at Atlanta.

“Kennedy, you’ve also grown into an amazing racer. As I was standing with you at Millbridge earlier this year, I couldn’t think of how well you handled that night. From the struggles to working it out to finishing upfront, that showed the trade of a good racer.”

She then motions for Kasey Kahne to join her on stage as Kelley looks towards L.W., Jimmy and Dale with a simple smile on her face. She knew that Kennedy was in for a surprise. Angelica had spoken to Kelley about this a couple weeks ago in asking for a mother’s permission.

“In partnership with Kasey Kahne Racing, I am starting my own sprint team underneath the JR Motorsports banner,” Angelica reveals as Dale’s eyes open in shock as he glances at Kelley before returning his eyes back to his daughter. “The sprint team will be solely my project and ran by myself and my husband Kyle Larson.” Kyle smiles as he stands up and walks to the front, remembering the discussion with Angelica three weeks ago. No matter what happens with her, there were plans to put this team together. “KKR will be supplying chassis and motors, as well as having a technical alliance to help myself and Kyle get up off the ground.

“Kyle will be racing some races in the car when he isn’t running Sprint Cup Series races. Though beyond that, we’re kicking off a quarter midget team.” Angelica then looks over to the little ones of the family as a big smile forms on Chelsea’s face.

“It gives us both great honor to announce that we’ll be running a three-car team,” Kyle continues as Angelica keeps her eyes focused on the three kids. “Kennedy Elledge, Wyatt Miller and Chelsea Earnhardt – congratulations kiddos. Kyle is going to teach you how to race while Angelica is boss!” The three kids look at each other shocked, face their parents shocked before looking at Angelica, Kyle and Kasey shocked. Wyatt is the first one to stand up and walk to the front, standing before Angelica.

“I’m going to race for you?” Wyatt asks and Angelica shakes her head yes. “You’re going to own my car?” Angelica shakes her head yes once again with a smile on her face. “Yay!” The little boy hugs her tightly as Angelica hugs him back.

“Do you want to see your car?” Angelica asks and Wyatt shakes his head yes excited. “Kasey, shall we unveil them?” Kasey shakes his head yes. They then walk over to the big tarp, pulling it off to reveal three quarter midgets.

Kennedy smiles immediately as she sees the No. 8 quarter midget done up to look identical to her boxstock car. She then thanks both Angelica and Kyle as she checks it out.

“Do you know which is yours?” Angelica asks Wyatt and he shakes his head yes as he sets his eyes on the No. 31 quarter midget. It was interesting number choice, though the young child had his reasons. When he started watching tapes of sprint races with L.W. and Jimmy, he immediately fell in love with the number. When he wanted the number on his car, it brought a tear to Jimmy’s eye as he remembered working with Jason Leftler in the Nationwide Series using the same number.

“This one is mine?” Chelsea then questions and Kyle shakes his head yes. The four-year-old walks around the car a couple times, smile forming on her face. Angelica had chosen the No. 25 for the car and did a paint scheme to match that of her Sprint Cup racecar, which in return matched her Legend.

“Remember how you said that you wanted to drive my Legend?” Chelsea shakes her head yes. “Well, you can’t drive it quite yet but I thought that if you had a car identical to it that you’d love it.”

“I do love it!” Chelsea then wraps both arms around her older sister. “Thanks sissy.”

As the family stood together posing for photos and talking, everything seemed perfect in the world. Taking a deep breath, Angelica knew if she finished off the final battle of road to recovery that she’d finally get the life that she had dreamed of for a long time.

Leave a Reply

